Sunday, 4 November 2018

The Press Club Media Awards - Meet The Nominees

November 4, 2018


The Press Club Media Awards – Meet The Nominees

NASSAU, The Bahamas – The best in Bahamian media would be recognized for their hard work and dedication in the field of journalism and mass communications, during The Bahamas Press Club Media Awards scheduled for Saturday, November 10, 2018.

The Black Tie, Red Carpet event will be held in the Governor’s Ballroom at the British Colonial Hilton, under the Patronage of Her Excellency the Most Hon Dame Marguerite Pindling, Governor General of the Commonwealth of The Bahamas.

This year’s theme is: “Celebrating 45 Years of Bahamian Media 1973-2018”, and Title Sponsor is IL Cares Foundation and Verizon Media Group. Other major sponsors are Aliv, Sunshine Holdings Ltd. Royal Fidelity, ZNS, The Nassau Guardian, The Tribune, The Pan-American Health Organization (PAHO) and many other supporters of Bahamian media.

The night’s top award is The Etienne Dupuch Lifetime Achievement Award and the recipient is veteran broadcaster and owner of Island FM, Sir Charles Carter. The Pioneer Award goes to Ivan Johnson, Publisher of The Punch and The Press Club Person of The Year will be revealed at the awards ceremony, as well as The People’s Choice Award being voted online by the public.


Best Cinematography Award
1.     Eyewitness news - Eyewitness News - Sentenced to suffer
2.     Andrew Burrows - Ministry of Agriculture - We can feed ourselves ( North Andros & Long Island)

Best Editing for Television News Story
1.     Terran Knowles - NB 12 - Tradewinds

Best Editing for Television News Story or Documentary
1.    Andrew Burrows - Ministry of Agriculture - Can We Feed Ourselves – Abaco

Best Newscast
1.     Clint Watson - Eyewitness News - Labour day newscast

Best Producer Award – Packaged
1.     Apryl Sands and Shameko Gilbert - Eyewitness News - Autism: Special Place for Special People
2.     Clint Watson - Eyewitness News - Newscast Oct 4 Beyond the Headlines
3.     Andrew Burrows - Ministry of Agriculture - Can We Feed Ourselves – North Andros
4.     Genea Noel-Ferguson & Kendeno Knowles - Eyewitness News - Newscast October 1st – Cancer Registry Long Overdue

Best Television Documentary

1.     Deandre Williamson - ZNS - A history of Fox Hill
2.     Andrew Burrows - Ministry of Agriculture - Can We Feed Ourselves (Long Island & Abaco)
3.     Eyewitness News - Sentenced to Suffer
4.     Carla Palmer  - ZNS - Agriculture Now
5.     Jerome Sawyer - REV TV- Lifeline to Crooked Island

Best Television News Story

1.     Jasmine Brown - NB12/Nassau Guardian - Phenton Neymour Shares Cancer Battle
2.     Kyle Walkine - Nassau Guardian - Johnathon's Prom Night
3.     Deandre Williamson - ZNS - Shantytown Eviction Deadline Update
4.     Apryl Sands - Eyewitness News - Shanty Town Residents
5.     Genea Noel-Ferguson - Eyewitness News -Ashes or Dirt?
6.     Sancheska Brown - Eyewitness News - Girl Needs Help
7.     Theo Sealy - Eyewitness News- Child Murdered in Cross Fire

Best Video Editing Award

1.     Rossano Deal - Nassau Guardian - Special Needs Prom Night
2.     Rossano Deal - Nassau Guardian - Minnis to address the OBAN issue
3.     P Giovanni Armbrister - Eyewitness News - Tyler’s Place
4.     Shemako/Shamiko Gilbert - Eyewitness News - Labour Day Family Victim Mourns
5.     Agatha Christie - Eyewitness News - Johnson Prepares for Fight

Bursell Brandshaw Press Photographer of the Year
1.     Torrell Glinton - Nassau Guardian - Munning Road Vigil
2.     Eric Rose - BIS - Youth and Culture in The Park A Hit in St. Barnabas
3.     Eric Rose - BIS - Coverage of E. Clement Bethel Arts Festival
4.     Elizabeth Bryan - The Eleutheran -The Eleutheran

Cyril Stevenson  Award for Outstanding Political Journalism
1.     Vaughnique Toote - NB12- Minnis on Oban BPC Report

Kenneth Nathaniel Francis Award for Newspaper Design and Composition
1.     Ayhisha Small-Cleare - The Nassau Guardian
2.     Vernal Bryan - Volume 11, Issue 9 - The Eleutheran Newspaper
3.     The Tribune - The Tribune

Leon Turnquest Award for Sports Print Journalism
1.     Sheldon Longley -The Nassau Guardian - We’ve Come a Long Way in The Men's 400m
2.     Sheldon Longley – The Nassau Guardian - Steven, Shaunae shine in Shanghai
3.     Renaldo Dorsett - 10 Year Seniors - The Legend of Deandre Ayton: Part II
4.     Renaldo Dorsett - 10 Year Seniors - There Can Only Be One
5.     Simba French - The Nassau Guardian - A breakdown of The Bahamas’ medals at CARIFTA
6.     Simba French - The Nassau Guardian - Unstoppable

Leslie Higgs Feature Writer of the Year
1.     Rogan Smith - The Punch - Now, Let Me Be More Pacific, How To Avoid Getting Catfished In Classified Ads
2.     Sloan Smith - The Nassau Guardian- We Wanted the Death Penalty
3.     Cara Hunt - The Tribune - Shaunae Miller and Natajia Miller interviews
4.     Elizabeth Bryan - The Eleutheran - An Eleutheran Profile: Dorothy Elaine, Neely Rahming

Outstanding Sports Broadcast Journalism
1.     Randy Smith - Eyewitness news - Johnson Preparing for Fight
2.     Amajahl Knowles - ZNS - Klay, Mychal Thompson speak about Giving Back

P. Anthony White Columnist of the Year
1.     Inigo ‘Naughty’ Zenicazelaya - A Comic's View: Dey Can’ Be Serious With This Political BS
2.     Inigo ‘Naughty’ Zenicazelaya - A Comic's View: Left In The Dark – Again
3.     Rogan Smith - All Fun And Jokes Aside, To Beat Or Not To Beat
4.     Felicity Ingraham - A Blind Love
5.     Felicity Ingraham - Face to Face

Social Media Award of the Year
1.     Hadassah Deleveaux - Blog - Over The Hill...The Other Side
2.     Timothy Bain - 2018 Deandre Ayton NBA Draft Recap
3.     Ras De'Niro Thompson - YSC PR - Current Affairs Podcast

Student Media Journalism Award
1.     Kenton Hepburn - UB TV - Sherwood Rahming
2.     Laurencis Smith - UB TV - Ken Mullings
3.     Leah Cooper, Andrea Darville,  Berthony McDermott, Jade Bethel - UBTV - UB Grad Day
4.     Ginelle Longley - Eyewitness News - Eyewitness News

Website of the Year
1.     Rogan Smith - Blog
2.     Spice Media Group - The Eleutheran
3.     Eyewitness News


Tickets are $150 per person.
To learn more, please contact:
Lindsay Thompson
For more about the Bahamas Press Club 2014, visit
Facebook: The Bahamas Press Club 2014

No comments:

Post a Comment